Home » Africa map » Burkina Faso map »

Flag of Burkina Faso Burkina Faso Google Maps and facts

Welcome to Google Maps of Burkina Faso (BF) and locations list of this country. World Route Planner and its detailed Burkina Faso page is the place where Google Maps Sightseeing make sense! With comprehensive destination gazetteer, Driving Directions to Burkina Faso, World Route Planner enables you to explore Burkina Faso through detailed Satellite Imagery and Street View - fast, free and easy as never before. Browse the list of administrative regions below of Burkina Faso, follow the navigation through administrative regions to find a place you are interested in and Book your hotel with Best Price Guarantee! Your Burkina Faso Google Satellite Map Sightseeing and Street View start here.

To activate Street View on any city of Burkina Faso, drag above the Zoom feature the yellow little man in the map.

Facts about Burkina Faso

Administrative divisions: 45 provinces; Bale , Bam , Banwa , Bazega , Bougouriba , Boulgou , Boulkiemde , Comoe , Ganzourgou , Gnagna , Gourma , Houet , Ioba , Kadiogo , Kenedougou , Komondjari , Kompienga , Kossi , Koulpelogo , Kouritenga , Kourweogo , Leraba , Loroum , Mouhoun , Nahouri , Namentenga , Nayala , Noumbiel , Oubritenga , Oudalan , Passore , Poni , Sanguie , Sanmatenga , Seno , Sissili , Soum , Sourou , Tapoa , Tuy , Yagha , Yatenga , Ziro , Zondoma , Zoundweogo
Area: total: 274 ,200 sq km land: 273 ,800 sq km water: 400 sq km
Background: Burkina Faso (formerly Upper Volta) achieved independence from France in 1960. Repeated military coups during the 1970s and 1980s were followed by multiparty elections in the early 1990s. Current President Blaise COMPAORE came to power in a 1987 military coup and has won every election since then. Burkina Faso's high population density and limited natural resources result in poor economic prospects for the majority of its citizens. Recent unrest in Cote d'Ivoire and northern Ghana has hindered the ability of several hundred thousand seasonal Burkinabe farm workers to find employment in neighboring countries.
Flag description: two equal horizontal bands of red (top) and green with a yellow five-pointed star in the center note: uses the popular pan-African colors of Ethiopia
Capital: name: Ouagadougou geographic coordinates: 12 22 N , 1 31 W time difference: UTC 0 (5 hours ahead of Washington , DC during Standard Time)
Climate: tropical; warm , dry winters; hot , wet summers
Currency code: Communaute Financiere Africaine franc (XOF); note - responsible authority is the Central Bank of the West African States
Ethnic groups: Mossi over 40% , other approximately 60% (includes Gurunsi , Senufo , Lobi , Bobo , Mande , and Fulani)
Geographic coordinates: 13 00 N , 2 00 W
Geography note: landlocked savanna cut by the three principal rivers of the Black , Red , and White Voltas
Government type: parliamentary republic
Imports partners: Cote d'Ivoire 25.6% , France 20.5% , Togo 7.1% (2007)
Internet country code: .bf
Land boundaries: 0 km (landlocked)
Neighbouring countries: total: 3 ,193 km border countries: Benin 306 km , Cote d'Ivoire 584 km , Ghana 549 km , Mali 1 ,000 km , Niger 628 km , Togo 126 km
Languages: French (official) , native African languages belonging to Sudanic family spoken by 90% of the population
Location: Western Africa , north of Ghana
Map references: Africa
National holiday: Republic Day , 11 December (1958)
Nationality: noun: Burkinabe (singular and plural) adjective: Burkinabe
Natural hazards: recurring droughts
Population: 15 ,264 ,735 note: estimates for this country explicitly take into account the effects of excess mortality due to AIDS; this can result in lower life expectancy , higher infant mortality , higher death rates , lower population growth rates , and changes in the distribution of population by age and sex than would otherwise be expected (July 2008 est.)
Religions: Muslim 50% , indigenous beliefs 40% , Christian (mainly Roman Catholic) 10%
Terrain: mostly flat to dissected , undulating plains; hills in west and southeast
Unemployment rate: 77% (2004)

Capital of Burkina Faso

Ouagadougou (click to view Ouagadougou map)

Places in Burkina Faso

Browse the most comprehensive and up-to-date online directory of administrative regions and Street views in Burkina Faso. Regions are sorted in alphabetical order from level 1 to level 2 and eventually up to level 3 regions.

Bam Province (199 google map locations)
Boulgou Province (400 google map locations)
Boulkiemdé Province (583 google map locations)
Comoé Province (265 google map locations)
Gnagna Province (116 google map locations)
Gourma Province (297 google map locations)
Houet Province (195 google map locations)
Ioba Province (251 google map locations)
Kénédougou Province (246 google map locations)
Komondjari Province (345 google map locations)
Koulpélogo Province (216 google map locations)
Kourwéogo Province (243 google map locations)
Léraba Province (280 google map locations)
Mouhoun Province (302 google map locations)
Nahouri Province (331 google map locations)
Namentenga Province (258 google map locations)
Nayala Province (248 google map locations)
Oudalan Province (315 google map locations)
Poni Province (694 google map locations)
Province de la Komondjari (1 google map locations)
Province de la Kompienga (1 google map locations)
Province de la Léraba (1 google map locations)
Province des Balé (1 google map locations)
Province des Banwa (1 google map locations)
Province du Ioba (1 google map locations)
Province du Koulpélogo (1 google map locations)
Province du Kourwéogo (1 google map locations)
Province du Loroum (1 google map locations)
Province du Nayala (1 google map locations)
Province du Noumbiel (1 google map locations)
Province du Tuy (1 google map locations)
Province du Yagha (1 google map locations)
Province du Ziro (1 google map locations)
Province du Zondoma (1 google map locations)
Sanguié Province (254 google map locations)
Sanmatenga Province (258 google map locations)
Séno Province (55 google map locations)
Sissili Province (166 google map locations)
Soum Province (449 google map locations)
Tuy Province (170 google map locations)
Yagha Province (197 google map locations)
Yatenga Province (282 google map locations)
Ziro Province (325 google map locations)
Zondoma Province (540 google map locations)
Zoundwéogo Province (61 google map locations)

Random cities in Burkina Faso

Ouagadougou, the capital city of Burkina Faso.

This Burkina Faso map is for informational use only. No representation is made or warranty given as to its content. User assumes all risk of using Google Maps and Google Driving Directions. World Route Planner assumes no responsibility for any loss or delay resulting from such use of free Burkina Faso map.

Link to Burkina Faso Google Maps page

This map of Burkina Faso has been viewed 4070 times until now. In case you would like, there is a very easy way how to link to our Burkina Faso map - including free Google Maps, gazetteer search, country, city maps, Street View and facts -, ready to use on your website. Please, simply copy & paste the provided HTML code into your page source code: Thank you for all links to our Maps and Driving Directions!

Text link to: Burkina Faso map