Home » Africa map » Comoros map »

Flag of Comoros Union of the Comoros Google Maps and Facts

Welcome to the Google Maps of Comoros (KM) and the comprehensive location list for this country. World Route Planner, together with its detailed Comoros page, turns Google Maps Sightseeing into a meaningful experience! Our extensive destination gazetteer, coupled with Driving Directions to Comoros, allows you to explore Comoros through detailed satellite imagery and street views—fast, free, and easier than ever before.

Browse through the list of administrative regions in Comoros, navigate through these regions to find a place of interest, and book your hotel with the Best Price Guarantee! Your journey through Comoros via Google Satellite Map Sightseeing and Street View starts here.

Comoros Google Maps

To activate Street View on any city of Comoros, drag above the Zoom feature the yellow little man in the map.

Facts about Comoros

Administrative divisions: 3 islands and 4 municipalities*; Grande Comore , Anjouan , Domoni* , Fomboni* , Moheli , Moroni* , Mutsamudu*
Area: total: 2 ,170 sq km land: 2 ,170 sq km water: 0 sq km
Background: Comoros has endured more than 20 coups or attempted coups since gaining independence from France in 1975. In 1997 , the islands of Anjouan and Moheli declared independence from Comoros. In 1999 , military chief Col. AZALI seized power in a bloodless coup , and helped negotiate the 2000 Fomboni Accords power-sharing agreement in which the federal presidency rotates among the three islands , and each island maintains its own local government. AZALI won the 2002 Presidential election , and each island in the archipelago elected its own president. AZALI stepped down in 2006 and President SAMBI took office. Since 2006 , Anjouan's President Mohamed BACAR has refused to work effectively with the Union presidency. In 2007 , BACAR effected Anjouan's de-facto secession from the Union , refusing to step down in favor of fresh Anjouanais elections when Comoros' other islands held legitimate elections in July. The African Union (AU) initially attempted to resolve the political crisis by applying sanctions and a naval blockade on Anjouan , but in March 2008 , AU and Comoran soldiers seized the island. The move was generally welcomed by the island's inhabitants.
Flag description: four equal horizontal bands of yellow (top) , white , red , and blue with a green isosceles triangle based on the hoist; centered within the triangle is a white crescent with the convex side facing the hoist and four white , five-pointed stars placed vertically in a line between the points of the crescent; the horizontal bands and the four stars represent the four main islands of the archipelago - Mwali , Njazidja , Nzwani , and Mahore (Mayotte - territorial collectivity of France , but claimed by Comoros) note: the crescent , stars , and color green are traditional symbols of Islam
Capital: name: Moroni geographic coordinates: 11 42 S , 43 14 E time difference: UTC+3 (8 hours ahead of Washington , DC during Standard Time)
Climate: tropical marine; rainy season (November to May)
Currency code: Comoran franc (KMF)
Ethnic groups: Antalote , Cafre , Makoa , Oimatsaha , Sakalava
Geographic coordinates: 12 10 S , 44 15 E
Geography note: important location at northern end of Mozambique Channel
Government type: republic
Imports partners: France 17.8% , UAE 10.6% , South Africa 8.3% , Pakistan 7% , Kenya 5.6% , China 5.3% , India 4.9% (2007)
Internet country code: .km
Land boundaries: 340 km
Neighbouring countries: 0 km
Languages: Arabic (official) , French (official) , Shikomoro (a blend of Swahili and Arabic)
Location: Southern Africa , group of islands at the northern mouth of the Mozambique Channel , about two-thirds of the way between northern Madagascar and northern Mozambique
Map references: Africa
National holiday: Independence Day , 6 July (1975)
Nationality: noun: Comoran(s) adjective: Comoran
Natural hazards: cyclones possible during rainy season (December to April); Le Kartala on Grand Comore is an active volcano
Population: 731 ,775 (July 2008 est.)
Religions: Sunni Muslim 98% , Roman Catholic 2%
Terrain: volcanic islands , interiors vary from steep mountains to low hills
Unemployment rate: 20% (1996 est.)

Capital of Union of the Comoros

Moroni (click to view Moroni map)

Places in Comoros

Browse the most comprehensive and up-to-date online directory of administrative regions and Street Views in Comoros. Our listings are organized alphabetically, starting from level 1 regions and progressing through to level 2 and eventually level 3 regions, ensuring you can easily navigate and find specific areas of interest.

Anjouan (111 Google Maps locations)
Grande Comore (210 Google Maps locations)
Mohéli (51 Google Maps locations)

Random cities in Comoros

Moroni, the capital city of Comoros.

Link to Comoros Google Maps page

The map of Comoros has already attracted 2796 views. If you wish to embed our comprehensive Comoros map on your site, we offer an easy solution. This map includes free access to Google Maps, gazetteer search, detailed country and city maps, Street View, and essential facts, all ready to enhance your website. To use it, simply copy and paste the provided HTML code into your webpage's source code. We appreciate every link back to our Maps and Driving Directions. Thank you for your support!

This Comoros map is intended solely for informational purposes. No representations or warranties are made concerning its accuracy or reliability. Users assume all risks associated with the use of Google Maps and Google Driving Directions. World Route Planner is not liable for any losses or delays that may occur from using this free Comoros map.