Skip to content


Home » Asia map » Cyprus map »

Flag of Cyprus Republic of Cyprus Google maps and facts

Welcome to Google maps of Cyprus (CY) and locations list of this country. World Route Planner and its detailed Cyprus page is the place where Google maps Sightseeing make sense! With comprehensive destination gazetteer, Driving Directions to Cyprus, World Route Planner enables you to explore Cyprus through detailed Satellite Imagery and Street View - fast, free and easy as never before. Browse the list of administrative regions below of Cyprus, follow the navigation through administrative regions to find a place you are interested in and Book your hotel with Best Price Guarantee! Your Cyprus Google Satellite Map Sightseeing and Street View start here.

To activate Street View on any city of Cyprus, drag above the Zoom feature the yellow little man in the map.

Did you know about Cyprus?

According to legend, Cyprus is the birthplace of the ancient Greek Goddess of Love, Aphrodite. Cyprus owes its name to the word for copper in ancient Greek, "Kypros". The island has rich copper deposits. This island has played an important part in the history, for it lies at the crossroads of three continents.

Facts about Cyprus

Administrative divisions: 6 districts; Famagusta , Kyrenia , Larnaca , Limassol , Nicosia , Paphos; note - Turkish Cypriot area's administrative divisions include Kyrenia , all but a small part of Famagusta , and small parts of Lefkosia (Nicosia)
Area: total: 9 ,250 sq km (of which 3 ,355 sq km are in north Cyprus) land: 9 ,240 sq km water: 10 sq km
Background: A former British colony , Cyprus became independent in 1960 following years of resistance to British rule. Tensions between the Greek Cypriot majority and Turkish Cypriot minority came to a head in December 1963 , when violence broke out in the capital of Nicosia. Despite the deployment of UN peacekeepers in 1964 , sporadic intercommunal violence continued forcing most Turkish Cypriots into enclaves throughout the island. In 1974 , a Greek Government-sponsored attempt to seize control of Cyprus was met by military intervention from Turkey , which soon controlled more than a third of the island. In 1983 , the Turkish-held area declared itself the "Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus" (TRNC) , but it is recognized only by Turkey. The latest two-year round of UN-brokered talks - between the leaders of the Greek Cypriot and Turkish Cypriot communities to reach an agreement to reunite the divided island - ended when the Greek Cypriots rejected the UN settlement plan in an April 2004 referendum. The entire island entered the EU on 1 May 2004 , although the EU acquis - the body of common rights and obligations - applies only to the areas under direct government control , and is suspended in the areas administered by Turkish Cypriots. However , individual Turkish Cypriots able to document their eligibility for Republic of Cyprus citizenship legally enjoy the same rights accorded to other citizens of European Union states. The election of a new Cypriot president in 2008 served as the impetus for the UN to encourage both the Turkish and Cypriot Governments to reopen unification negotiations.
Flag description: white with a copper-colored silhouette of the island (the name Cyprus is derived from the Greek word for copper) above two green crossed olive branches in the center of the flag; the branches symbolize the hope for peace and reconciliation between the Greek and Turkish communities note: the "Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus" flag has a white field with narrow horizontal red stripes positioned a small distance from the top and bottom edges between which is centered a red crescent and a red five-pointed star
Capital: name: Nicosia (Lefkosia) geographic coordinates: 35 10 N , 33 22 E time difference: UTC+2 (7 hours ahead of Washington , DC during Standard Time) daylight saving time: +1hr , begins last Sunday in March; ends last Sunday in October
Climate: temperate; Mediterranean with hot , dry summers and cool winters
Currency code: Cypriot pound (CYP); euro (EUR) after 1 January 2008
Ethnic groups: Greek 77% , Turkish 18% , other 5% (2001)
Geographic coordinates: 35 00 N , 33 00 E
Geography note: the third largest island in the Mediterranean Sea (after Sicily and Sardinia)
Government type: republic note: a separation of the two ethnic communities inhabiting the island began following the outbreak of communal strife in 1963; this separation was further solidified after the Turkish intervention in July 1974 that followed a Greek junta-supported coup attempt gave the Turkish Cypriots de facto control in the north; Greek Cypriots control the only internationally recognized government; on 15 November 1983 Turkish Cypriot "President" Rauf DENKTASH declared independence and the formation of a "Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus" (TRNC) , which is recognized only by Turkey
Imports partners: Greece 17.7% , Italy 10.2% , UK 9.6% , Germany 9.4% , Israel 6.5% , France 5.4% , China 5.3% , Netherlands 4.1% (2007)
Internet country code: .cy
Land boundaries: 648 km
Neighbouring countries: total: 150.4 km (approximately) border sovereign base areas: Akrotiri 47.4 km , Dhekelia 103 km (approximately)
Languages: Greek , Turkish , English
Location: Middle East , island in the Mediterranean Sea , south of Turkey
Map references: Middle East
National holiday: Independence Day , 1 October (1960); note - Turkish Cypriots celebrate 15 November (1983) as Independence Day
Nationality: noun: Cypriot(s) adjective: Cypriot
Natural hazards: moderate earthquake activity; droughts
Population: 792 ,604 (July 2008 est.)
Religions: Greek Orthodox 78% , Muslim 18% , other (includes Maronite and Armenian Apostolic) 4%
Terrain: central plain with mountains to north and south; scattered but significant plains along southern coast
Unemployment rate: 3.9% (2007 est.)

Capital of Republic of Cyprus

Nicosia (click to view Nicosia map)

Places in Cyprus

Browse the most comprehensive and up-to-date online directory of administrative regions and Street views in Cyprus. Regions are sorted in alphabetical order from level 1 to level 2 and eventually up to level 3 regions.

Famagusta District (107 google map locations)
Kyrenia District (52 google map locations)
Larnaca District (77 google map locations)
Limassol District (120 google map locations)
Nicosia District (186 google map locations)
Paphos District (142 google map locations)

Random cities in Cyprus

Nicosia, the capital city of Cyprus.

This Cyprus map is for informational use only. No representation is made or warranty given as to its content. User assumes all risk of using Google maps and Google Driving Directions. World Route Planner assumes no responsibility for any loss or delay resulting from such use of free Cyprus map.

Link to Cyprus Google Map page

This map of Cyprus has been viewed 7394 times until now. In case you would like, there is a very easy way how to link to our Cyprus map - including free Google maps, gazetteer search, country, city maps, Street View and facts -, ready to use on your website. Please, simply copy & paste the provided HTML code into your page source code: Thank you for all links to our Maps and Driving Directions!

Text link to: Cyprus map