Skip to content


Home » Asia map » Korea, South map »

Flag of Korea, South Republic of Korea Google maps and facts

Welcome to Google maps of Korea, South (KR) and locations list of this country. World Route Planner and its detailed Korea, South page is the place where Google maps Sightseeing make sense! With comprehensive destination gazetteer, Driving Directions to Korea, South, World Route Planner enables you to explore Korea, South through detailed Satellite Imagery and Street View - fast, free and easy as never before. Browse the list of administrative regions below of Korea, South, follow the navigation through administrative regions to find a place you are interested in and Book your hotel with Best Price Guarantee! Your Korea, South Google Satellite Map Sightseeing and Street View start here.

To activate Street View on any city of Korea, South, drag above the Zoom feature the yellow little man in the map.

Why was Korea divided?

Korea is an East Asian country that is at present divided into two countries - North Korea and South Korea. But why did this division take place? The Soviet Union occupied the northern half of Korea after World War II ended in 1945. At the same time, Southern Korea was controlled by the United States. The peninsula was formally split in two in 1948. The political differences between the two rival states led to the outbreak of a horrific war in 1950. Three years later, a cease-fire agreement ended the Korean War. Butthe North Koreans and South Koreans have to this day, never signed a peace treaty. South Korea has developed into one of Asia's most affluent countries since partition in 1948. North Korea, on the other hand, has been one of the world's most secretive societies. It is one of the few countries still under nominally communist rule.  

Facts about Korea, South

Administrative divisions: 9 provinces (do , singular and plural) and 7 metropolitan cities (gwangyoksi , singular and plural) provinces: Cheju-do , Cholla-bukto (North Cholla) , Cholla-namdo (South Cholla) , Ch'ungch'ong-bukto (North Ch'ungch'ong) , Ch'ungch'ong-namdo (South Ch'ungch'ong) , Kangwon-do , Kyonggi-do , Kyongsang-bukto (North Kyongsang) , Kyongsang-namdo (South Kyongsang) metropolitan cities: Inch'on-gwangyoksi (Inch'on) , Kwangju-gwangyoksi (Kwangju) , Pusan-gwangyoksi (Pusan) , Soul-t'ukpyolsi (Seoul) , Taegu-gwangyoksi (Taegu) , Taejon-gwangyoksi (Taejon) , Ulsan-gwangyoksi (Ulsan)
Area: total: 98 ,480 sq km land: 98 ,190 sq km water: 290 sq km
Background: An independent Korean state or collection of states has existed almost continuously for several millennia. Between its initial unification in the 7th century - from three predecessor Korean states - until the 20th century , Korea existed as a single independent country. In 1905 , following the Russo-Japanese War , Korea became a protectorate of imperial Japan , and in 1910 it was annexed as a colony. Korea regained its independence following Japan's surrender to the United States in 1945. After World War II , a Republic of Korea (ROK) was set up in the southern half of the Korean Peninsula while a Communist-style government was installed in the north (the DPRK). During the Korean War (1950-53) , US troops and UN forces fought alongside soldiers from the ROK to defend South Korea from DPRK attacks supported by China and the Soviet Union. An armistice was signed in 1953 , splitting the peninsula along a demilitarized zone at about the 38th parallel. Thereafter , South Korea achieved rapid economic growth with per capita income rising to roughly 14 times the level of North Korea. In 1993 , KIM Young-sam became South Korea's first civilian president following 32 years of military rule. South Korea today is a fully functioning modern democracy. In June 2000 , a historic first North-South summit took place between the South's President KIM Dae-jung and the North's leader KIM Jong Il. In October 2007 , a second North-South summit took place between the South's President ROH Moo-hyun and the North Korean leader.
Flag description: white with a red (top) and blue yin-yang symbol in the center; there is a different black trigram from the ancient I Ching (Book of Changes) in each corner of the white field
Capital: name: Seoul geographic coordinates: 37 33 N , 126 59 E time difference: UTC+9 (14 hours ahead of Washington , DC during Standard Time)
Climate: temperate , with rainfall heavier in summer than winter
Currency code: South Korean won (KRW)
Ethnic groups: homogeneous (except for about 20 ,000 Chinese)
Geographic coordinates: 37 00 N , 127 30 E
Geography note: strategic location on Korea Strait
Government type: republic
Imports partners: China 16.9% , Japan 16.3% , US 10.4% , Saudi Arabia 6.2% (2007)
Internet country code: .kr
Land boundaries: 2 ,413 km
Neighbouring countries: total: 238 km border countries: North Korea 238 km
Languages: Korean , English widely taught in junior high and high school
Location: Eastern Asia , southern half of the Korean Peninsula bordering the Sea of Japan and the Yellow Sea
Map references: Asia
National holiday: Liberation Day , 15 August (1945)
Nationality: noun: Korean(s) adjective: Korean
Natural hazards: occasional typhoons bring high winds and floods; low-level seismic activity common in southwest
Population: 48 ,379 ,392 (July 2008 est.)
Religions: Christian 26.3% (Protestant 19.7% , Roman Catholic 6.6%) , Buddhist 23.2% , other or unknown 1.3% , none 49.3% (1995 census)
Terrain: mostly hills and mountains; wide coastal plains in west and south
Unemployment rate: 3.3% (2007 est.)

Capital of Republic of Korea

Sŏul (click to view Sŏul map)

Places in Korea, South

Browse the most comprehensive and up-to-date online directory of administrative regions and Street views in Korea, South. Regions are sorted in alphabetical order from level 1 to level 2 and eventually up to level 3 regions.

Cheju-do (301 google map locations)
Inch'ŏn-gwangyŏksi (352 google map locations)
Kangwŏn-do (1661 google map locations)
Keiki Province (1439 google map locations)
Keisho-hoku Province (1793 google map locations)
Kwangju-gwangyŏksi (213 google map locations)
North Ch'ungch'ŏng Province (705 google map locations)
North Chŏlla Province (1092 google map locations)
Pusan-gwangyŏksi (167 google map locations)
Sŏul-t'ŭkpyŏlsi (111 google map locations)
South Chella Province (3568 google map locations)
South Chūsei Province (1600 google map locations)
South Keisho Province (1521 google map locations)
Taegu-gwangyŏksi (144 google map locations)
Taejŏn-gwangyŏksi (59 google map locations)
Ulsan-gwangyŏksi (130 google map locations)

Random cities in Korea, South

Sŏul, the capital city of Korea, South.

This Korea, South map is for informational use only. No representation is made or warranty given as to its content. User assumes all risk of using Google maps and Google Driving Directions. World Route Planner assumes no responsibility for any loss or delay resulting from such use of free Korea, South map.

Link to Korea, South Google Map page

This map of Korea, South has been viewed 14176 times until now. In case you would like, there is a very easy way how to link to our Korea, South map - including free Google maps, gazetteer search, country, city maps, Street View and facts -, ready to use on your website. Please, simply copy & paste the provided HTML code into your page source code: Thank you for all links to our Maps and Driving Directions!

Text link to: Korea, South map